Custom Car Chronicle

My 48 Plymouth Custom build

Home Forums CCC Forum My 48 Plymouth Custom build

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Brian Arcella
    Participant

Ok I’m a newbie to this site, but not knew to the car world. I was or guess I sort of still am a mechanic for 45 years mostly the mundane boring stuff but late ron a lot of work on older cars, Had a few Mercs back in the day when I had dark hair a waistline and money in my pocket but that was then and this is now. Been friends with Mark Wojcik for quite some time and have helped him on a few project and his work is beyond over the top and he’s been inspirational to say the least. So I was sitting home recovering from shoulder surgery and I was window shopping and came across the 48 Plymouth coupe.  20170227_141333AA

The guy was asking way too much for it and I guess I may have been the only one crazy enough to go look at it., long story short picked it up for a few hundred bucks but she is in need of some work that for sure, whomever did the bodywork  must have been a graduate of the Ray Charles school of autobody so media blast by my friend Mike down in Cherry Hill NJ is a given and I will have to undo 60% of what this other guy had done. 

The build plan if a mid 50’s custom taildragger with a 2″ drop in the front 3″ drop in the rear using spindles and blocks old school and as close to period correct as possible with obvious exceptions for safety comfort, handling and dependability etc. My original plan was to drop the Chevy 350 4 bolt main in the stock chassis and upgrade the steering and rear axle and suspension with leftover parts from my 56 Nomad (still unfinished btw taking a break to build the 48)

Well after cutting away the pieces of bridge steel this yahoo used to make a radiator mount this is what I found.

Brian Arcella
    Participant