Custom Car Chronicle

Metal working 1956 Coupe DeVille

Home Forums CCC Forum Metal working 1956 Coupe DeVille

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    CadillacRob86
    Participant

Hey guys.

I’m beginning to do body work on my 1956 Cadillac Coupe DeVille.  I have zero experience, but I’m getting the hang of it through trial and error.  I bought an English wheel from harbor freight, and through failure I learned I needed a rubber band for the top wheel to eliminate the unwanted crown I was getting in my patch.

I’ll attach pictures of that repair.

Now I’ve turned my attention to the passenger rocker.  Somebody over the years put a slip on aluminum rocker, rivited it in, and Bondo’d.  I ripped that off, thinking it was a cheap fix for rust.  Turns out this car was hit as the original was not that rusted, but smashed in.  I figured surely somebody replaced the door, patched the rocker, and let it go.  So I spent a few hours making a new rocker from scratch.  Not only was my fitment poor on my part, but closer inspection revealed they Bondo’d the hell out of the door, and therefore, I can’t get a happy marriage of the rocker, door, and fender.  Upon these findings I was so angry I kicked over the trashcan, which also spilled my toolset.  I’ve been working on this car as I can for over a year now.  I literally put it up for sale I was so mad.

The following day I went to a big local car show that comes through twice a year.  Low and behold there’s a stunning, absolutely mint 1956 Cadillac there.  It reinvigorated the dream and I’m ready to try and keep on slaving away.

The base of the fender sits proud of the door, and correct placement is questionable.  I’ve had it on and off a few times and I’m not happy I have it right.

<span style=”font-size: 16px;”>So the plan is to get one of those 3m paint stripping discs for my angle grinder and rip the door down to bare metal and see what I’ve got going on.</span>